Teams & Matches

Mexico reveals roster, it is a mix of youth and experience

30.05.2019 | WBSC

World No. 9 Mexico unveiled today the 17-player roster to compete in the WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship, to be played in Prague and Havlickuv Brod, Czech Republic, from 13-23 June. Head Coach Alfredo Lerma has chosen a mix of veterans and youth for Mexico’s return to the World Championship after four years.

The pitching staff will be full of young arms, with all four hurlers making their first appearance in a flagship softball World Championship. Adan Dueñas and Jhonatan Muñoz are veterans from the 2012 Junior Men’s World Championship team, while Carlos Ordaz and Jose Ricardo Hernandez pitched at the Central American and Caribbean Games Barranquilla 2018 when Mexico finished fourth place. The offensive will be led by lefty sluggers Edgar Lopez and Ruben Delgadillo.

Mexico was drawn in Group A and will open the tournament against Japan on 14 June, in Havlickuv Brod. Then they will play against host Czech Republic, New Zealand, Cuba, Botswana, Argentina and Philippines to complete the group’s stage (full schedule).

It will be the 13th participation for Mexico in the Men’s Softball World Championship; the team has earned two medals in history: a silver in 1966 when they hosted the first ever flagship event, and a bronze medal four years later in Oklahoma City, USA. Mexico aims to return to the playoffs after a 22-year absence: its last appearance was back in 1996 in Midland, USA, when they finished fifth place.


1.-Ernesto Alonzo Sánchez López | 14-april-1993 | Catcher

2.-José Ricardo Hernández Cueto | 28-novembre-1992 | Pitcher

3.-Daniel Eduardo Durazo Durazo | 12-august-1995 | DP

4.-Jesús René Cardona Bustamante | 10-april-1991 | SS

5.-Rubén Delgadillo Hernández | 12-july-1986 | 1B

6.-Alan de Jesús Osuna Peraza | 1- june-1993 | RF

7.-Edgar Daniel López | 3-octobre-1993 1B

8.-Julio César Rodríguez Peña | 31-august-1994 CF

9.-Carlos Miguel Ordaz López | 01-june-1986 Pitcher

10.-Jhonatan Misael Muñoz León | 5-decembre-1995 Pitcher

11.-Carlos Alberto Márquez Santana | 18-july-1995 DP

12.-Lenny Josué Villalvazo Peña | 12-octobre-1998 Utility

13.-Antonio González Rubio | 12-november-1989 Filder

14.-Alan Salgado Carrillo | 26-july-1989 LF

15.-Ismael Peña Osuna | 1-july-1992 2B

16.-Adán Dueñas Ledezma | 24-september-1994 Pitcher

17.-Iván Alejandro García Villalobos | Cátcher

Team Staff

Alfredo Lerma Martínez | Manager

Mario Pérez León | Coach

Jorge Rivera Márquez | Assistant

Cruz Rolando Guerrero C. | Delegate

Raúl Salazar | Referee